Print on demand at blurb, 2012, 128 pages
> have a look  > command

publik in liberia freude

Review by Hannelore Herlan: Have you ever been to Liberia? Rendel Freude takes you with her. For two weeks she traveled across the little country on the West Coast of Africa, wedged between the Ivory Coast and Sierra Leone, bordering in the North on Guinea.

Liberia counts roughly three and a half million inhabitants, of whom approximately a million live in the capital Monrovia. On average, a Liberian woman bears six or seven children, but due to high infant mortality and low life-expectancy - which is 58 years - the annual population growth rate is under three percent. The population suffers from huge deprivations; Liberia is currently the second poorest country in the world. The book discusses for the most part women and their hardships.

Print on demand at blurb, 2011, 92 pages
Have a look and command

publik kenia rendel freudeTravel report by Kristin Kunze: „Welcome, Kristin!“ Patrick is waiting with a cardboard sign at the airport in Nairobi. We are relieved and happy, after having searched nervously in the big hall for one piece of luggage. Patrick would drive us a couple more times during our visit, and in case he was unable to, he’d provide a replacement. He’d do everything with a tranquil reliability.

Late in the evening, we were also welcomed at the convent in KASARANI. Over the course of the next days, we shook countless hands, smiled, marveled and were happy about the new hospital building that was now fully operational and colorful. We, that’s my friend Rendel Freude from Cologne who’s a photographer and graphic designer, and me. It was Rendel’s first visit to Kenya and to Africa in general. Through her new experience and her camera she opened new viewpoints on land and people for me. It was my fourth time here ...

 

The film-maker Katja Duregger accompanied me for a day in my atelier. Enjoy watching!

Print on demand bei blurb, 2012, 128 Seiten
> hier ansehen   > hier bestellen

publik in liberia freudeRezension von Hannelore Herlan: Waren Sie schon einmal in Liberia? Rendel Freude nimmt sie mit. Zwei Wochen lang reiste sie durch das kleine Land an der Westküste Afrikas, das eingeklemmt zwischen der Elfenbeinküste und Sierra Leone liegt, im Norden begrenzt von Guinea.

Rund dreieinhalb Millionen Einwohner zählt Liberia, davon lebt schätzungsweise eine Million in der Hauptstadt Monrovia. Im Durchschnitt gebärt eine Liberianerin sechs, sieben Kinder, doch aufgrund der hohen Kindersterblichkeit und der geringen Lebenserwartung – sie liegt bei 58 Jahren – liegt das Bevölkerungswachstum bei unter drei Prozent. Die Bevölkerung leidet unter großen Entbehrungen; Liberia gilt derzeit als zweitärmstes Land der Welt. Und von Frauen und ihre großen Entbehrungen geht es in dem Buch hauptsächlich.

Print on demand bei blurb, 2011, 92 Seiten
Hier ansehen und bestellen

publik kenia rendel freudeReisebericht von Kristin Kunze: „Welcome Kristin!" Patrick steht mit einem Pappschild am Nairobi Airport. Erleichterte Freude, nachdem wir erstmal nervös in der großen Halle nach einem Gepäckstück suchen mussten. Patrick würde uns im Laufe des Aufenthaltes noch einige Male fahren oder – falls verhindert – einen Ersatz stellen. Alles mit ruhiger Zuverlässigkeit.

Auch im Konvent in KASARANI wurden wir noch spätabends freundlich begrüßt. Innerhalb der nächsten Tage schüttelten wir unzählige Hände, lächelten, staunten und freuten uns über den Krankenhausneubau – jetzt in vollem Betrieb und farbig belebt. Wir, das sind meine Kölner Freundin Rendel Freude, Fotografin und Grafikerin, und ich. Rendel war zum erstenmal in Kenia, in Afrika überhaupt. Sie öffnete für mich über ihr Neusein und über ihre Kamera andere Sichtweisen auf Land und Leute. Ich reiste zum vierten Mal hierher.

Die Filmemacherin Katja Duregger hat mich einen Tag im Atelier begleitet.
Viel Vergnügen beim Schauen!